Alberta Aids to Daily Living (AADL) With Update

For several years I have been dealing the Alberta Aids to Daily Living Program (AADL) through the Province of Alberta in Canada.

The Alberta Aids to Daily Living (AADL) program helps Albertans with a long-term disability, chronic illness or terminal illness to maintain their independence at home, in lodges or group homes by providing financial assistance to buy medical equipment and supplies.

Two issues in particular that have been problematic for me are first AADL’s Calendar year begins July 1st of every year, that’s right Canada Day.  All the AADL Approved Vendors are closed on Canada Day.  Which makes it impossible to get supplies on this day furthermore a Vendor will not issue supplies before the First of July because they don’t know if you will be approved through the AADL Program for the next calendar year.  Vendors are private companies and they have to protect themselves financially.  If they deliver supplies early and a client isn’t approved through the AADL Program they will not get paid which means they have to go after the Client who likely is on a limited income.

Second AADL works on a 2 month cycle which means a client is eligible to receive there approved quantity of supplies every 2 months.  If a client wants to order supplies early when there 2 month cycle begins on a weekend or long weekend occurs so that they don’t run out.  But again AADL will not allow an AADL Approved Vendor to bill early.  So a Client will have to wait until the next business day to receive there 2 month supply of medically necessary supplies.

Apparently this isn’t always the case with Vendors however I have encountered these issues with more than one Vendor.  I should note that this isn’t an issue of a Provincial Government Regulation or Legislation it is an AADL Policy that can quite easily change.  In fact I have written to The Health minister, spoken to a Manager within AADL and even filed a complaint with the Alberta Ombudsman but have yet to see any changes.  One of the Problems is that AADL says that it is an issue with the Vendor and the Vendors say it is an issue with AADL, and somewhere lays the truth.  I have decided to start a petition to bring public attention to this issue and potential make positive changes to these policies because really all it amounts to in my view are changing a date and policies.  If you wish to participate you can contact me and I will send you a copy.

ALBERTA AIDS TO DAILY LIVING (AADL) PART 2

UPDATE:  On June 4, 2014 I blogged about an issue that I have been dealing with for several years; I had also started to circulate a petition.   I have decided to pull the petition; my main reason for doing this is shortly after circulating the petition I had made a purchase from the Vendor I was using at the time that were not AADL covered items.  I was charged $15 for having the items delivered 4 blocks; I was told that a courier would be delivering the items.  When what I though was supposed to be a courier arrived at my home it was a staff member who was on a lunch break; still chewing on the last bit of his lunch.

As you can well imagine this upset me so much that I tried to get a hold of the owner; leaving several messages but never getting a call back.  This in my view is bad customer service.

When more than one vendor told me it wasn’t an issue with them but an issue with AADL I had no reason to doubt that they were telling me the truth until this incident that occurred as explained above.  I feel that I have been lied to and taken advantage of and I can no longer be supportive.

I have also been told by a few non-profit agencies that they haven’t had anyone complain about this issue, apparently according to another it’s not a big deal and I was also told my another that they wrote a position paper on this issue and recognized it as something that needs to be changed however they have moved on to other issues.

I will still continue my work on this however I will work alone form now on.

Leave a Reply

